100 is always a benchmark for batters in the game of cricket. Over the years, we have seen batters celebrating their centuries, and it is one of the most beautiful sights in the game of cricket. But, when a player gets out 99, that is just one short of a hundered, he looks so gutted and disappointed. It’s kind of funny that one run can make such a bif difference.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

After scoring his 100th hundered, Sachin Tendulkar said, “When I got the 99th century, no one spoke about it. I guess it was the media which started it. Everywhere I went people were talking about my 100th hundred.”

During his journey from 99 to 100th hundered, no one spoke about the 99 hundereds Sachin had made, they were all talking about the one that he wasn’t able to. It’s true that 99 is only considered as “one-short-of-hundered.” Sometimes, it appears as if, scoring 99 is a sin. Commentators, crowds and teammates feel sorry for one run that couldn’t be, and only a few celebrate 99 that were made.

Here’s the list of all those players who have missed that “one run” and have remained not out on 99, in One Day Internationals: 

Bruce Edgar (NZ
vs Ind, Auckland, 1981

Dean Jones (Aus)
vs SL, Adelaide, 1985

Richie Richardson (WI)
vs Pak, Sharjah, 1985

Andy Flower (Zim)
vs Aus, Harare, 1999

Alistair Campbell (Zim)
vs NZ, Bulawayo, 2000

Ramnaresh Sarwan (WI)
vs Ind, Ahmedabad, 2002

Brad Hodge (Aus)
vs NZ, MCG, 2007

Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)
vs Ind, Gwalior, 2007

Michale Clarke (Aus)
vs Eng, The Oval, 2010

Virender Sehwag (Ind)
vs SL, Dambulla, 2010

Malcolm Waller (Zim)
vs NZ, Bulawayo, 2011

Calum MacLeod (Scot)
vs Can, Ayr, 2012

And, some more “99” stats:
Eoin Morgan was dismissed on 99 on his ODI Debut for Ireland vs Scotland at Ayr in 2006)

Sachin alone was dismissed on 99 in ODIs THRICE in 2007.Since then (6 years), only 3 others have been dismissed on 99 – Duminy, Dilshan & Kohli.

Dismissals of 99 in ODIs coming in losing causes:

Sachin Tendulkar (Twice)
K Srikkanth
Rameez Raza
Matthew Hayden
VVS Laxman
Sanath Jayasuriya
Virat Kohli

[ STATS BY Bharath Seervi (https://www.facebook.com/SeerviCricket?ref=ts&fref=ts) ]

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button