Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the favourites for the CLT20 2014

The two-time Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are one of the favourites for the CLT20 2014. KKR have made a good start to the tournament by winning their first two matches against Chennai Super Kings and Lahore Lions.

[table] //

KKR are a very well balanced side, and when Gautam Gambhir starts scoring runs, they become formidable.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

Kolkata Knight Riders’ biggest advantage is the availability of many genuine all-rounders in their side. The likes of Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate and Andre Russell add a lot of weight to the KKR side.

KKR’s batting unit is very balanced. From Robin Uthappa’s patient stroke play to Yusuf Pathan’s power hitting, they have a batting unit that can chase down any total. The biggest downside of Kolkata Knight Riders is the fact that Gautam Gambhir hasn’t been in the best of form. But, in the match against Lahore Lions, he batted very positively, and stroked freely around the park. Gambhir’s opening partner Robin Uthappa is KKR’s most reliable batsman at the moment. Uthappa was also the Orange Cap holder in the IPL7. KKR’s middle-order is also very power-packed. The likes of Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate and Andre Russell can score runs very quickly.

Now, talking about their bowling, KKR’s bowling relies heavily on Sunil Narine. He is their trump card, and the best T20 bowler in the world. His four overs, more often than not, decide the outcome of the match. In the match against Lahore Lions, debutant Kuldeep Yadav bowled brilliantly and impressed one and all with his left-arm chinaman. His presence in the side adds more variety to the bowling attack, that includes the likes of Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine and a couple of all-rounders.

Kolkata Knight Riders are as good as any T20 side in the world, and if they stick to their plan and play to their potential, they are one of the favourites to win the CLT20 2014


Gautam Gambhir
Robin Uthappa
Manvinder Bisla
Yusuf Pathan
Suryakumar Yadav
Ryan ten Doeschate
Andre Russell
Pat Cummins
Sunil Narine
Piyush Chawla
Kuldeep Yadav


by The Cricket Lounge


Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button