Lounge TalkWORLD CUP 2015

World Cup 2015: Sri Lanka announce 30-man preliminary squad



layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"


Sri Lanka have announced the preliminary 30-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 as required by the tournament regulations. The 30-man squad announced by Sri Lanka also includes Lasith Malinga, who is recovering from an ankle injury.

Sri Lanka are a very well balanced team and they will enter the 2015 World Cup as one of the favorites to reach the semi-final of the tournament.

Sri Lanka have showed a lot of faith in their experienced players. Nine players who were part of the 2011 World Cup have been included in the squad that has a good blend of youth and experience.

Sri Lankan selectors have also included all-rounder Farveez Mahroof and Nuwan Pradeep, who haven’t played international cricket since 2012.

Suchitra Senanayake, who was banned in July 2014 with a suspect action has also been included in the squad.

Although, Sri Lanka have named many youngsters and uncapped players, the final 15-member squad will comprise of the usual suspects. The squad that is playing against England will most likely be the final squad for the World Cup 2015.

Sri Lanka’s major concern before the announcement of the final squad will be Lasith Malinga’s fitness. Malinga is Sri Lanka’s ace fast bowler and his availability will be the biggest concern for Sri Lanka.

The squad will be reduced to a 15-man final squad by the ICC’s deadline of 7th January.

Sri Lanka will play a seven-match series against England and seven-match ODI series against New Zealand.


Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Kusal Perera, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjan, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ajantha Mendis, Sachithra Senanayaka, Tharindu Kaushal, Jeevan Mendis, Ramith Rambukwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dhammika Prasad, Shaminda Eranga, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan.

Related Articles

Back to top button