Lounge Talk

India vs Australia, Fourth Test: Steve Smith reveals one change for the final Test



layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"


Australia have announced their playing XI for the fourth Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2014-15. Australia’s captain Steve Smith revealed one change for the fourth and final Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Australia’s ace fast bowler Mitchell Johnson is not fit and he will be replaced by another left arm speedster Mitchell Starc.

“Mitchell is an important part of our plans for the remainder of our summer and we want him 100% right so won’t be taking any risks with him,” Australia’s head coach Darren Lehmann said.

Mitchell Johnson was ruled out of the final Test on Sunday after failing to overcome hamstring soreness he sustained in the drawn Boxing Day Test at the MCG. Mitchell Starc, who played in the second Test, has been called back to replace Johnson as Australia look to seal the series 3-0.

Mitchell Starc, who has been picked to replace Johnson, hasn’t been in the best of form. Former Australian cricketer Shane Warne criticized Starc’s dull body-language in the second Test and this sparked a big controversy. But, this will be a big opportunity for Mitchell Starc to put up a good show and impress the selectors. Australia have a very rich pool of young fast bowlers and there is very little scope for complacency.

There were also doubts regarding Shane Watson’s fitness, but Australia’s captain Steve Smith confirmed that Shane Watson had overcome the effects of a stomach bug and would be fit to take his place in the side in Sydney.

Australia XI for the fourth Test: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Steven Smith (captain), Shaun Marsh, Joe Burns,  Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), Ryan Harris, Mitchell Starc,  Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood. 


By The Cricket Lounge

Related Articles

Back to top button