ICC Cricket World Cup: Batsmen Who Scored Hundred On Their World Cup Debut


image source

ICC Cricket World Cup is the most prestigious tournament in the game of cricket. It is followed worldwide and the players who perform well in this tournament are remembered for a very long time. It is a very special feeling for a cricketer to represent his country in ICC Cricket World Cup. There is a lot of pressure, especially when the players play their first World Cup match. In this post, we will have a look at those cricketers who scored hundred on their ICC Cricket World Cup debut.

Here is the list of players who scored hundred on their ICC Cricket World Cup debut: 

Batsman Runs Balls Fours Sixes Team Against Venue Date
Gary Kirsten 188* 159 13 4 South Africa UAE Rawalpindi 16-Feb-96
Craig Wishart 172* 151 18 3 Zimbabwe Namibia Harare 10-Feb-03
Glenn Turner 171* 201 16 2 New Zealand East Africa Edgbaston 07-Jun-75
Andrew Symonds 143* 125 18 2 Australia Pakistan New Wanderers 11-Feb-03
Scott Styris 141 125 3 6 New Zealand Sri Lanka Bloemfontein 10-Feb-03
Dennis Amiss 137 147 18 0 England India Lord’s 07-Jun-75
Andy Flower 115* 152 8 1 Zimbabwe Sri Lanka New Plymouth 23-Feb-92
Jeremy Bray 115* 137 10 2 Ireland Zimbabwe Kingston 15-Mar-07
Trevor Chappell 110 131 11 0 Australia India Trent Bridge 13-Jun-83
Geoff Marsh 110 141 7 1 Australia India Chepauk 09-Oct-87
Allan Lamb 102 105 12 2 England New Zealand The Oval 09-Jun-83
Nathan Astle 101 132 8 2 New Zealand England Motera 14-Feb-96
Virat Kohli 100* 83 8 2 India Bangladesh Dhaka 19-Feb-11

India’s Virat Kohli is the last player to score a hundred on World Cup debut. Virat Kohli played his debut World Cup match at Dhaka against Bangladesh in 2011 World and scored 100* off just 83 balls.

South Africa’s Gary Kirtsen was the first batsman to score a hundred on World Cup debut. Kirsten scored 188* (which is also his highest score in ODIs) at Rawalpindi in 1996 World Cup against UAE.

There will be a lot of youngsters who will play make their World Cup debut in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Let’s hope we will add more names to this list as the tournament progresses.

Follow The Cricket Lounge’s complete World Cup 2015 coverage here


By Aniket Arora

Note: Stats updated till 08/02/2015

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top