World Cup 2015: Aleem Dar’s ‘no ball’ call saved Rohit Sharma and Team India

no ball

A controversial decision given in favour of Rohit Sharma robbed Bangladesh of a wicket during the second quarter final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 between India and Bangladesh at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Umpire Aleem Dar’s decision went in favour of the Indian opener and he made full use of it by scoring a big hundred. Rohit Sharma had hit the full-toss in the deep and was caught by the man at deep square leg. But Bangladesh were not even allowed to start their celebrations as the umpire Aleem Dar had immediately called a ‘no-ball’.

Rubel Hossain, who bowled that delivery, was shocked as the replay clearly showed that the ball was way below Rohit Sharma’s waist.

Rohit went onto score his seventh century in One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and his first win World Cup cricket. Rohit also became the second Indian batsman after Sourav Ganguly to score a hundred in the knockout stages of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

This controversial “no ball” decision will surely have a big impact on the match as Rohit Sharma went onto score 137 runs off 126 balls and changed the complexion of the game single-handedly.

Comments

comments