Lounge Talk

India vs Australia 2016: Yuvraj returns to T20, Raina left out of ODIs


The selection committee of the Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI) met in Delhi on Saturday and finalised the squad for the tour of Australia, which begins next month.

The biggest announcement of the meet was the return of Yuvraj Singh to India’s T20 squad. Yuvraj, who was ignored for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and hasn’t played any international cricket after that, made a comeback on the back of some brilliant performances in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

India’s squad for the tour of Australia 2016

India ODI Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, RohitSharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (C), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh, Rishi Dhawan, ​Brainder Sran

 India T20 Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajnkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra
Ravindra Jadeja, who was one of India’s star performer in the recently concluded Test series against South Africa, also made a comeback to India’s ODI and T20 squad.
Fast bowler Mohammed Shami has also been included in both the squads, after recovering from a knee injury.
Veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh has retained his place in the T20 squad. Interestingly, Ashish Nehra has also been included in T20 squad for the tour of Australia.
A decision that will raise many eyebrows is the exclusion of Suresh Raina from the ODI squad.

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button