44 instances when a six was hit on the last ball of the 20th over in T20 cricket



The first time a six was hit on the final delivery of the 20th over in T20Is, was by Brett Lee against Makhaya Ntini during a T20I game at Johannesburg in February 24, 2006 and last instance of a six being hit on the last delivery of the 20th over in T20Is, was by MS Dhoni against Al-Amin Hossian during a T20I match at Mirpur on February 24, 2016.

Here is Umang Pabari’s statistical report on 44 instances when a six was hit on the last ball of the 20th over in T20s:

Sr. no. Batsman Team Bowler Team Match innings Venue Date
1 Brett Lee Australia M Ntini South Africa 2nd Johannesburg February 24, 2006
2 Naved-ul-Hasan Paksitan van der Wath South Africa 1st Johannesburg February 7, 2007
3 Misbah-ul-haq Pakistan Sanath Jayasuriya Sri Lanka 1st Johannesburg September 17, 2007
4 Rohit Sharma India van der Wath South Africa 1st Durban September 20, 2007
5 Nathan McCullum New Zealand N Bracken Australia 2nd Sydney February 15, 2009
6 I Pathan India Ian Buttler New Zealand 1st Wellington February 27, 2009
7 Mark Boucher South Africa Ben Laughlin Australia 1st Centurion March 29, 2009
8 M Mortaza Bangladesh A Cusack Ireland 1st Nottingham June 8, 2009
9 S Broad England S Benn West Indies 1st London June 15, 2009
10 P Ojha India TM Dilshan Sri Lanka 2nd Nagpur December 09, 2009
11 A Mathews Sri Lanka A Nehra India 1st Mohali December 12, 2009
12 RM Haq Scotland JK Kamande Kenya 1st Nairobi February 1, 2010
13 D Sammy West Indies D Christian Australia 1st Sydney February 23, 2010
14 MS Dhoni India A Morkel South Africa 1st St. Lucia May 2, 2010
15 Nathan McCullum New Zealand S Ajmal Pakistan 1st Barbados May 8, 2010
16 C Kapugedera Sri Lanka A Nehra India 2nd St. Lucia May 11, 2010
17 J Hastings Australia Prasad Sri Lanka 2nd Pallekele August 6, 2011
18 Kevin Pietersen England A Cheema Pakistan 1st Abu Dhabi February 27, 2012
19 ED Joyce Ireland SM Sharif Scotland 1st Dubai March 18, 2012
20 G Naib Afghanistan T Johnston Ireland 1st Dubai March 24, 2012
21 A Morkel South Africa S Raina India 1st Johannesburg March 30, 2012
22 T Johnston Ireland Mahmudullah Bangladesh 2nd Belfast July 20, 2012
23 MS Dhoni India M Nabi Afghanistan 1st Colombo September 19, 2012
24 M Samules West Indies R Hossian Bangladesh 1st Mirpur December 10, 2012
25 Mahmudullah Bangladesh K Roach West Indies 2nd Mirpur December 10, 2012
26 E Morgan England A Dinda India 2nd Mumbai December 22, 2012
27 M Waller Zimbabwe S Islam Bangladesh 1st Bulawayo May 11, 2013
28 Z Babar Pakistan M Samules West Indies 2nd St Vincent July 27, 2013
29 S Shenwari Afghanistan H Varaiya Kenya 1st Sharjah September 30, 2013
30 J Faulkner Australia I Sharma India 1st Rajkot  October 10, 2013
31 R Taylor New Zealand M Bukhari Netherlands 1st Dubai November 22 , 2013
32 C Jordan England D Bravo West Indies 1st Barbados March 13, 2014
33 V Sibanda Zimbabwe A Malik Netherlands 2nd Sylhet March 19, 2014
34 I Tahir South Africa L Malinga Sri Lanka 2nd Chittagong March 22, 2014
35 A Mathews Sri Lanka T Bresnan England 1st Chittagong March 27, 2014
36 M Mortaza Bangladesh A Mishra India 1st Mirpur  March 28, 2014
37 T Bresnan England D Styen South Africa 2nd Chittagong March 29, 2014
38 Shafiqullah Afghanistan A Malik Netherlands 1st Edinburgh July 9, 2015
39 Shafiqullah Afghanistan SM Sharif Scotland 1st Edinburgh July 12, 2015
40 C Mophu Zimbabwe G Elliott New Zealand 2nd Harare August 9, 2015
41 MS Dhoni India K Abbott South Africa 1st Dharmsala October 2, 2015
42 R Mutumbabi Zimbabwe M Nabi Afghanistan 1st Bulawayo October 26, 2015
43 M Khan Oman H Ahemd Hong Kong 1st Fatullah February 19, 2016
44 MS Dhoni India Al Amin Hossain Bangladesh 1st Mirpur February 24, 2016

Some more numbers on last ball sixes in T20s:

MS Dhoni has hit the last ball of the 20th over for a six four times which is most by any player in T20Is. While Nathan McCullum, A Mathews, M Mortaza and Shafiqullah have achieved this feet two times in T20Is.

Van der Wath, M Nabi, A Nehra, A Malik and SM Sharif have conceded six on the last bowl of the 20th over two times which is most by any other bowler in T20Is.

There is only one match in T20Is history in which a last ball six was hit on the last ball of both the innings. It was played between West Indies and Bangladesh on December 10, 2014 at Mirpur.

Note: Stats updated till 26/02/2016


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top