Lounge Talk

ICC World T20 2016: West Indies Announce Their Squad After Pay Dispute


The West Indies have finally announced their 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2016. The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have confirmed that 12 members of the 15-man squad named last month have signed contracts for the tournament. And the remaining three; Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Darren Bravo have pulled out for the tournament for reasons unrelated to the pay dispute.

“Kieron Pollard withdrew from the squad citing a lack of sufficient progress in his rehabilitative work (injury sustained in December) and hence wont be fit for tournament,” the WICB said in a release. “Narine withdrew citing insufficient progress in the rehabilitative work on his bowling action. He is currently banned from bowling in international cricket.”

West Indies’ World T20 squad (Bravo’s replacement to be named): Darren Sammy (c), Sulieman Benn, Jason Holder, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Chris Gayle, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top