Ravichandran Ashwin broke Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag’s record in Test cricket

The recently concluded Test series between India and West Indies didn’t have the best of ending as the last match got washed off due to rain and wet outfield. But still it was a good series for India as there were lots of positive and India won the series 2-0.

Indian team had lots of positives but the biggest one was Ravichandran Ashwin’s all-round form. Ashwin ended up as the leading wicket-taker in the four-match series with 17 wickets while more surprisingly, he finished in the fourth spot of highest run-getters in the series with 235 runs – only 16 runs behind the top-ranked Kohli.

So it was no surprise that Ravichandran Ashwin won the man of the series award. It was Ravichandran Ashwin’s 6th man of the series award and with this award, he went past Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag as the Indian cricketer with the most number of Man of the Series awards.

Here is the list of Top 10 list of Indian cricketers with the most number of the Man of the Series award in Test cricket.


Matches Series Awards
Ravichandran Ashwin 36 13 6
Virender Sehwag 104 39 5
Sachin Tendulkar 200 74 5
Kapil Dev 131 38 4
Harbhajan Singh 103 47 4
Anil Kumble 132 51 4
Rahul Dravid 164 60 4
Mohammad Azharuddin 99 37 3
Zaheer Khan 92 41 3
Sourav Ganguly 113 45 3

To Top