List of T20Is records that were broken in 2016


1) Virat Kohli scored most number of T20I runs in 2016

Virat Kohli was at the top of his game in the year 2016. In 2016, Virat Kohli played 15 T20I matches and scored 641 runs at an average of 106.8 and a strike rate of 140. Virat Kohli batted brilliantly throughout the year across all three formats of the game but his performance in T20I and specially in ICC World T20 2016, was nothing short of spectacular. Batting at number 3, Kohli played many match-winning for India and scored 641 runs in the calendar year. The previous record of most T20I runs in a calendar year that was held by Martin Guptill for his 472 in 2012, but Virat Kohli shattered it by a very big margin.

2) Virat Kohli scored seven fifties in T20Is in 2016 

Virat Kohli also broke the previous record of most fifties in a calendar year, which was held jointly by two Sri Lankans with 5 fifties ; Kumar Sangakkara and Tilakarathne Dilshan. Virat Kohli scored 7 T20I fifties in 2016 and now he is the sole holder of this record.

3) Highest partnership in T20Is

New Zealand’s Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill put on a partnership of 171 runs for the first wicket against Pakistan at Hamilton. Chasing Pakistan’s total of 169 runs, Williamson and Guptill not only got their side over the line but also put on 171 runs for the opening wicket beating the previous record of 170 held by Loots Bosman and Graeme Smith against England in 2009.

4) Chris Gayle became the first batsman ever to smash 100 sixes in T20Is 

West Indies’ swashbuckling batsman Chris Gayle became the first batsman ever to smash 100 sixes in T20Is and in the process he overtook former New Zealand batsman Brendon McCullum in the list of most number of sixes in T20Is. Brendon McCullum smashed 91 sixes in his T20I career.

5) West Indies became the first team to win two World T20s

In 2016, West Indies won the ICC World T20 in an emphatic manner and became the first team ever to win 2 ICC World T20 trophies. Before ICC World T20 2016, in the five previous editions of the tournament, there had been five different winners in India, Pakistan, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka. But West Indies broke the chain and became the first ever team to win the trophy 2 times.

To Top