India vs England 2016: India announce squads for ODI and T20 series


Chairman of selectors in India MSK Prasad announced India’s squad for the 3-match One Day International (ODI) and T20I series against England. The selectors met on Friday and picked the squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against England.

The biggest news from this announcement is the inclusion of India’s swashbuckling all-rounder Yuvraj Singh. Yuvraj, who recently got married, worked hard on his fitness and made runs at the domestic level to push selectors for a place in the side.¬†Ashish Nehra also returns to India’s T20 squad for the series against England. Nehra also worked very hard on his fitness to make a comeback.

Apart from these two, selectors picked almost the same squad that played in India’s last ODI series against New Zealand. The side is full of young players, keeping in mind the preparations for the ICC Champions Trophy later this year and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Suresh Raina, who hasn’t played international cricket in a very long time, wasn’t included in the ODI team but he found a place in the T20I squad.

The upcoming series will be a different experience for MS Dhoni as he will not be captaining the side after a very long time. Virat Kohli will lead the side and MS Dhoni will play as a wicketkeeper-batsman in the team.

ODI SQUAD: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

T20 SQUAD: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Mandeep Singh, KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra