5 Things That Have Changed In Indian Cricket Since We Won Champions Trophy In 2013

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: India, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, won the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 in England and added yet another feather to Indian cricket glorious hat. It was the only tournament that MS Dhoni hand’t won as India’s captain and he won it in a rain-effected nail bitter final against the host nation England.

India will defend their title in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which will once again take place in England. But this time, India will have a new leader and all eyes will be on Virat Kohli in his first big ICC tournament as India’s captain.

In this post, The Cricket Lounge’s Shivam Behl lists 5 things that have changed since India won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013.

1) MS Dhoni has stepped down as India’s limited overs captain and Virat Kohli has taken over 

ms dhoni virat kohli pepsico

2) Ravindra Jadeja has taken over Ravichandran Ashwin as India’s number one spinner (in fact, he is the number 1 Test bowler in the world) 


3) Yuvraj Singh made a comeback to ODI cricket and scored his highest individual score. The swashbuckling all-rounder is also in the squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017.


4) India have finally found a good replacement for MS Dhoni. 


P.S. We love Mahi and want him to play for many more years. It is just a very satisfactory feeling to known that talented Rishabh Pant will be an ideal replacement for MS Dhoni behind the stumps and also with the bat. 

5) Finally, India have a good fast bowling unit. 


The likes of Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are all class bowlers and hey have performed very well in the last 12 months or so. It will be interesting to see how these three and others perform in ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

QUICK READ: This Is Why Gautam Gambhir Should Have Been Picked In Champions Trophy 2017 Squad