BREAKING: India Announce Squad For ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India have finally announced their squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017, and it is a very strong side. After raising objections to International Cricket Council’s new revenue model, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finally announced their squad on Monday.

Virat Kohli will lead a strong 15-man team for ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which is scheduled to begin on the 1st of June. India’s first match of the tournament will be against their art-rivals Pakistan on the 4th of June in Birmingham.

Interestingly, Shikhar Dhawan, who finally found some touch in the ongoing IPL 2017, has been included in the squad. Whereas, Gautam Gambhir, who is one of the leading run scorers of the tournament has been ignored.

The selectors have gone for experience in the middle order. Number 3,4 and 5 spot will be taken by Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni respectively. Kedar Jadhav, who impressed one-and-all with his batting in the series England also gets a place in the team as does Manish Pandey, who is in fine form in the ongoing IPL 2017.

The selectors have also decided to go in with four front fast bowlers in the form of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami

Squad: Virat Kohli(C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh,  Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(WK),  Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

To Top