IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians' Best Playing XI For The Semi Final Against RPS - The Cricket Lounge

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians’ Best Playing XI For The Semi Final Against RPS

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians (MI) are arguably the strongest team in the ongoing tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Right from the start of the season, they have played top class cricket and it has been a complete team effort from the mighty blues. From youngsters like Nitish Rana to pros like Kieron Pollard, individuals have stepped up at the right time and played their part.

Mumbai, under the able leadership of Rohit Sharma, topped the league stage and now they, along with Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), who finished at number 2 spot, will get two chances to qualify for the final of IPL 2017.

In their last league match of IPL 2017 against KKR, Mumbai showed their bench strength and played their second string side. In a sheer display of authority, MI rested their key players like Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel, Nitish Rana and Mitchell McClenaghan and yet came out victorious by 9 runs and ended KKR’s splendid spell of not losing a match at Eden Gardens while chasing in the last five years.

Now, Mumbai Indians will battle against their neighbours Rising Pune Supergiant in the first qualifier of IPL 2017. In the league stage of IPL 2017, MI and RPS played against each other twice and RPS won on both the occasions. But, MI would want to put that behind and give their best performance in the first semi-final of IPL 2017.

MI have a very solid squad and it will be interesting to see their playing XI for the semi-final. The Cricket Lounge’s Rahat Ali lists the best playing of Mumbai Indians for the semi-final against RPS.

1) Parthiv Patel (wk)

2) Lendl Simmons

3) Rohit Sharma (c)

 4) Nitish Rana

5) Kieron Pollard

6) Krunal Pandya

7) Hardik Pandya

8) Harbhajan Singh

9) Lasith Malinga

10) Jasprit Bumrah

11) Mitchell McClenaghan

Some cricket pundits are batting for Ambati Rayudu in place of Nitish Rana because of his poor form in the last few matches. But, Mumbai Indians would back Rana to do well on the big day. He is an exciting young talent who impressed one and all with his aggressive and gutsy display of batting in the first half of the tournament.

Here’s look back at the history of the IPL finals since 2011

2011: RCB (1) vs CSK (2) – Winner Chennai Super Kings

2012: KKR (2) vs CSK (4) – Winner Kolkata Knight Riders

2013: CSK (1) vs MI (2) – Winner Mumbai Indians

2014: KXIP (1) vs KKR (2) – Winner Kolkata Knight Riders

2015: CSK (1) vs MI (2) – Winner Mumbai Indians

2016: RCB (2) vs SRH (3) – Winner Sunrisers Hyderabad

To Top