Lounge Talk

This Move By BCCI Will Make Suresh Raina’s Comeback Even More Difficult


The Board of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) has announced that 88 outstation players who have registered for the second edition of  Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) will not be allowed to take part in the tournament

Reportedly, BCCI wrote a letter to TNPL saying that state associations are not eligible to allow outstation players to participate in their leagues. BCCI’s acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary sought an explanation from TNCA on this matter.

“A letter has been sent along with minutes of a BCCI working committee decision from a few years back which clearly says that outstation players won’t be allowed in state association T20 league. We will wait for TNCA response now but BCCI stands remains the same as before,” BCCI official was quoted as saying in a report published on Indian Express.  

Apart from BCCI, the Maharashtra Cricket Association has also made it clear that their players will not participate in TNPL. MCA did not grant a No Objection Certificate(NOC) for Maharashtra batsman Rahul Tripathi, who had a successful IPL 10 season for Pune Supergiant.


Many established Indian cricketers like  Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Sanju Samson had registered to participate in the next edition of TNPL. However, swashbuckling batsman Suresh Raina was the biggest attraction among all the players. Raina, who was not given a central contract by BCCI earlier, is no more a part of India’s scheme of things in all three formats of the game.

Not long ago, Raina was one of India’s most reliable batsmen in limited-overs cricket. But, a dip in form coupled with fitness issues made things very difficult for him.

To Top