Lounge Talk

ICC Announce Women’s World Cup 2017 Team Of The Tournament

India lost the final of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017 against England at ‘the home of cricket’ Lord’s Cricket Ground on Sunday. It was a great spectacle for cricket fans around the world, as cricket fans came out in numbers to support women’s cricket. It was a packed house at Lord’s and fans were right behind their teams throughout the game.

ellyse perry

On Monday, International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the ‘Team of the Tournament’ and Indian captain Mithali Raj was named captain of ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 team of the tournament. Two other Indian cricketers were included in the team; Deepti Sharma and Harmanpreet Kaur.

This is the second time that Mithali has been named in the Team of the tournament at a World Cup. The first time she was named in ICC Women’s World Cup team of the tournament was in 2009. In ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, Indian captain Mithali Raj scored 409 runs and led India brilliantly throughout the tournament.

Harmanpreet Kaur was mainly included in the team because of her destructive and arguably the greatest ODI knock in women cricket history, in the second semi-final against Australia. Harmanpreet Kaur smashed 171 unbeaten runs off just 115 balls.

World Cup winners England had the most number of players in the team. Four Englnisg players namely Tamsin Beaumont,  Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor and Alex Hartley were included in the team of the tournament.

harmanpreet kaur

Three South African cricketers namely Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk were included in the team which was announced by an expert panel of ICC. Only one Australian cricketer Ellyse Perry was included in ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017’s team of the tournament.
TEAM OF THE TOURNAMENT: Tamsin Beaumont (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Mithali Raj (captain) (India), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Deepti Sharma (India), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Alex Hartley (England). Natalie Sciver (12th) (England)

To Top