India vs Sri Lanka 2017: Sri Lanka Announce Squad for First Test - The Cricket Lounge

India vs Sri Lanka 2017: Sri Lanka Announce Squad for First Test

The 3-match Test series between India and Sri Lanka is scheduled to begin from 26th July. It promises to be a good series because both the teams have pints to prove and starting a new era.

While this will be India cricket team’s first series under the new coach Ravi Shastri, Sri Lanka are also going through a transformation phase and Rangana Herath will lead the side for the first time in Test cricket.

Sri Lanka announced their squad for the first Test match against India on Sunday and left-arm orthodox spinner Rangana Herath will lead the team in absence of Dinesh Chandimal, who has been ruled out for the first two Test due to Pneumonia.

Sri Lankan fans are hoping for a better performance from their team after a very ordinary show against Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka have not been able to recover after their three great players Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Tilakarathne Dilshan announced their retirements from international cricket in quick succession.

India, on other hand, are a very well balanced side and doing really well under the able leadership of Virat Kohli. In the grand home season 2016/17, India proved that they are very tough side to beat at home, and conditions in Sri Lanka will not be very different.

Here is Sri Lanka’s squad for the first Test against India:

Sri Lanka: Rangana Herath (C), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep

To Top