These 6 Indian Cricketers Have 100% Record As Captain

India have had 33 Test captains, 23 captains in ODIs, five in T20Is. But, very few of them have a 100% record. Check out the full list of temporary Indian captains who have 100% captaincy record here:

Anil Kumble


Anil Kumble led India in 14 Test matches between 2007 and 2008, and India managed to won three, drew 5 and lost 6. But, when it comes to ODI cricket, his record is 100%. Kumble led India in only 1 ODI match when India’s the then captain Sourav Ganguly got injured, and India won that match with ease. It was an ODI match between India and England in 2002.

Ravi Shastri


Ravi Shastri is one of the two Indian captains who have 100% win record in the longest format of the game.Shastri led India in a Test match against West Indies in Chennai, in 1988. Against a strong batting line-up which had the likes of Sir Viv Richards, Desmond Haynes, Richie Richardson and other, Shastri led India not only as the captain, but also as bowler.  But Shastri not only was famous for this innings due to his win as captain but his bowling that led India to victory. As a result, India won the Test by 255 runs, levelling the series 1-1.

Suresh Raina


Among the five T20I captains India have had, only two have 100% win record and Suresh Raina is one of them. The 2010 tour of Zimbabwe was Raina’s captaincy debut and he led India to a comprehensive series win. He also led the side in 2011 West Indies series and the result came out in India’s favour. His average as T20I captain(51) is far better than his career average.

Virender Sehwag


Virender Sehwag became India’s first T20I captain when he led Team India against South Africa in 2006. India won that match by six wickets at Johannesburg. It was the only T20I match Sehwag played as India’s captain because immediately after that MS Dhoni was announced India’s captain, ahead of the ICC World T20 2007.

Ajinkya Rahane


Ajinkya Rahane is the only Indian captain to have a 100% win record in two different formats. Earlier this year, Ajinkya Rahane led India in the Test match against Australia after Indian skipper Virat Kohli picked a shoulder injury. As Kohli took time to recover, Rahane led India in the last match of the series as well and the result came out in India’s favour. Rahane also led India in India’s 2015 tour of Zimbabwe. India won all three ODIs and claimed the series 3-0.

Gautam Gambhir

gautam gambhir comeback new zealand

The ODI series against New Zealand in 2010 was Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy debut and India whitewashed the visitors with ease. Statistically, Gambhir is one of the best temporary captain India have ever had. As India’s captain, Gambhir has scored 329 runs at an average of 109.6 and a strike rate in excess of 100, including two unbeaten centuries and and man of the series award. Gambhir also led India in another ODI match against West Indies and won it. So, his captaincy record in international cricket reads 6 ODIs, 6 wins.

To Top