5 Indian Star Players Who Have Not Been Retained By Their IPL Franchises

The excitement around retention of players in the IPL has finally come to an end as the retained players have been named by the Franchises. There was widespread keenness and excitement about the retention of players by their favourite teams and who would be sacked.


While Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Kohli, De Villiers and Sarfraz Khan, Mumbai Indians went for Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Bumrah. Chennai Super Kings have retained MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja on the other hand Rajasthan Royals have only retained Steve Smith.

Axar Patel has been retained by Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils have decided to retain Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris and Rishab Pant.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. But there are some star players which have surprisingly not been retained their respective Franchises.

Here’s the list of 5 star players who have not been retained by their respective teams.
1. Shikhar Dhawan

shikhar dhawan

Sunrisers have retained David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Sunrisers have not retained Shikhar Dhawan who has been among the leading run getters across formats in the year 2017.

This might have come as a big blow to Shikhar Dhawan who has been in splendid form lately.
2. Ravichandran Ashwin

RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. MOBILE USE WITHIN NEWS PACKAGE Chennai Super Kings bowler Ravichandran Ashwin (L) celebrates the wicket of Rajasthan Royals batsman Ashok Maneria with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C) andSuresh Raina during the IPL Twenty20 match between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings at the Swai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on May 9, 2011. AFP PHOTO / Prakash SINGH (Photo credit should read PRAKASH SINGH/AFP/Getty Images)

Chennai Super Kings did not retain the star spinner and Ravindra Jadeja got preference over him. Ashwin is one of the leading wicket takers in the IPL having scalped 100 wickets in the tournament. Ravichandran Ashwin would surely be disappointed to be left out by his home team.
3. Yuvraj Singh

shikhar dhawan

After being dropped from the Indian team he’s been sacked by his franchise too. The Sunrisers Hyderabad have not retained the star batman and this hints at the end of his era.
4. Gautam Gambhir

gambhir-kkr-1429602911-2360490 (1)

He has captained the KKR to two title wins in 2012 and 2014. But the successful captain who’s been clinical has been sacked by the Kolkata Knight Riders. The assumptions of his being let off by the KKR have come true and he would surely be jolted by the decision.

5. Ajinkya Rahane


Ajinkya Rahane is another surprising exclusion from the list of retained players. He would have been really hopeful of being retained by Rajasthan Royals but the Royals only retained Steve Smith leaving Rahane high and dry.

The Cricket Lounge

We bring to you all the detailed news, articles, updates and statistics from the world of cricket.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button