Here’s How Much Money The Winner Of IPL 2018 Will Take Home

The Indian Premier League finally begins today and we are all set for the action, drama and lots of cricketing extravaganza.
Murali Vijay
IPL comes once every year and we get glued to our television screens because of the quality of cricket and also glamour that can’t be seen in any other cricket league.
The opening game will be played between the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) and the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) who are making a comeback in this cash-rich tournament after a period of two years. And ahead of the first match of this season, the prize money for the winner of this tournament has been announced by the IPL committee.
The winner of this tournament will be awarded a whopping sum of Rs 20 crore. The runner-up team will bag a prize money of Rs 12.5 crore while the two teams at the third and fourth place will receive Rs 8.75 crore each.
So now if we compare the IPL’s prize money with that of Pakistan Super League (PSL), the difference is jaw-dropping. PSL recently awarded its winner, Islamabad United, a sum of $ 1Million. Which means, Rs 6.49 crores! Even less than the 3rd and 4th ranked teams in IPL.
In other words, 3 times more than the PSL winner’s amount. Moreover, the total PSL budget for the prize money is $3.5 Million (Rs 22.7 crores) while IPL showers a total of Rs 50 crore ($7.7 Million) on the table toppers.
Thereafter all remaining teams will not be rewarded. Rules and regulation governed for the IPL according to that it is mandatory for every team’s management committee to half money award to them must be distributed to players.

The Cricket Lounge

We bring to you all the detailed news, articles, updates and statistics from the world of cricket.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button