IPL : 5 Facts That Every CSK Fan Needs To Know About The Team

Chennai Super Kings added another feather to their hat as they lifted the prestigious trophy of Indian Premiere League for the third time. The team gave phenomenal performances throughout the league and won the finale like champions. The team consistently gave wonderful performance throughout the league and never left the top 4 spot on the tables.

However, that’s not all here, we bring you five records that every fan should know about and take pride in. Have a look:

5. CSK have won the most number of Fair Play Awards :

MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings have won the most number of Fair Play awards than any of the other teams. CSK have bagged that award 6 times across the 9 seasons they have played for.They won the award in the years 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

4. CSK are the only team to retain the IPL Trophy:

Yes, no other team has been able to defend the trophy, the way CSK did in the year 2011. Chennai Super Kings won their first title in the year 2010 after beating Mumbai Indians. They defended the trophy in the next season, in 2011 and won the trophy again by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore.

3. CSK were the first team to win all their home games in a single season:

View this post on Instagram

Dedicated to the den, The #SuperChampions with #Yellove! #WhistlePodu 💛🦁

A post shared by Chennai Super Kings (@chennaiipl) on

Chennai Super Kings is the only team to have won all their home games in a single season. In 2011, CSK won all their home games, which were held at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Not just that, CSK won the finale match at the same ground against RCB.

So, now you know the love of CSK for their ‘Den’ aka Chepauk.

2. CSK have the highest win percentage:

Among all the other teams, Chennai Super Kings have the highest win percentage.Out of the 148 games, the team have won 90, boasting an impressive win percentage of 61.56. The next team in the line is Mumbai Indians with a percentage of  57.01.MS Dhoni is the only player to still captain the team he led in 2008

  1. MS Dhoni is the only player to still captain the team he led in 2008:

Well, this list will always be incomplete without the ‘Thala’ record. Captain Cool has contributed a lot to the success of the team over all these years. He was picked up by the CSK franchise in the year 2008  for a whopping 1.5 Million USD  and since then MS Dhoni has been fulfilling his responsibilities as the skipper of the team and he has done an incredible job.

Moreover, Mahendra Singh Dhoni has the highest win-loss percentage as compared to all the other captains who have captained over 10 matches – 58.86. He is the best we have.

Share your thoughts in the comments below.

To Top