Kane Williamson Finally Breaks His Silence On ‘Overthrow’ Controversy

Ever since the tournament of World Cup 2019 concluded with England cricket team taking their maiden World Cup trophy away, ICC and its rules are being badly criticized, as six runs were given by the Umpires to England during the overthrow.

ben-stokes

Although, the winner of the game was decided based on boundaries and not the total runs but an extra run awarded to England probably cost New Zealand the match and the trophy.

After the match, even Simon Taufel cleared the air and pointed out the blunder. He said it was a mistake on the part of on-field umpires.

britain-cwc-cricket_d6238e5c-a670-11e9-9ac0-125817c7848e

Reacting to the overthrow controversy, New Zealand’s skipper Kane Williamson, talking to nzherald.co.nz, Kane Williamson said:

I actually wasn’t aware of the finer rule at that point in time, obviously you trust in the umpires and what they do. I guess you throw that in the mix of a few hundred other things that may have been different,”

Even the head bowling coach of New Zealand’s team Gary Stead and batting coach Craig MacMillan were not aware of this rule of ICC.

-New-Zealand-s-Kane-Williamson_16bdcd96f41_large

Talking about the mistake, Gary Stead said:

The umpires are there to rule and they’re human as well, like players, sometimes errors are made”.

He added:

That’s just the human nature of sport, and why we care so much about it as well,”

Comments

comments