Rishabh Pant Made A Mistake Behind The Stumps And Got Trolled By Twitterati

Rishabh Pant, the young wicket-keeper of India is at the target of the trollers and critics, ever since the debacle of our Indian cricket team in World Cup, earlier this year. He is being looked down upon as the replacement of the former Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

He has been picked by the Indian selectors in every series in order to offer him an opportunity to gain some experience before the upcoming big event World Cup 2020. The young lad has been given a number of opportunities but he has failed on the majority of occasions.

View this post on Instagram

Impossible is not in my dictionary. Everything is possible if you are determined and focussed 👊🏻 The VRCT jacket by @adidas is a vehicle of self-expression, and I stand for “BRAVE” 💪🏻#WeRepresent #Brave

A post shared by Rishabh Pant (@rishabpant) on

Currently, the Indian cricket team is almost halfway into the three-match series and the youngster is still one of the most discussed players and that too for all the wrong reasons. From his batting to the grave mistakes behind the stumps in Rajkot, Rishabh’s performance has once again led to people pointing fingers at him and questioning the selectors.

Tonight, after opting to bowl first, the Men in Blue would have hoped to make early inroads but Bangladesh’s Liton Das and Mohammad Naim got the team to a great start thanks to the Indian left-arm seamer Khaleel Ahmed, who went for 24 runs in his two overs. Following which the skipper Rohit Sharma introduced Chahal into the attack only after five overs.

Chahal struck immediately in his first over. Rishabh Pant sensed an opportunity when Liton Das heaved without reaching to the pitch of the ball and missed it completely. Pant stumped Das very easily, however, it only looked like Rishabh did his job perfectly but the third umpire was called upon for a unique reason.

EIxpLOLU4AIq53L

On watching the replays carefully and repeatedly, the third umpire Anil Chaudhary came to a conclusion by not ruling Liton Das not-out and going by the rule books. Well, the on-field umpires have felt that Rishabh Pant had collected the ball ahead of the stumps. The delivery was also deemed as no-ball and a free-hit was awarded to the opposition.

The whole incident once again made the blood of twitterati boil. And to rub more salt on the wounds Das smashed the next two deliveries to four to end the over on a high. Twitterati were in no mood to let this mistake go and they started lashing out on him.

Here, have at the reactions of twitterati on this:

 

 

 

Comments

comments