Lounge Talk

Rohit Sharma Is Named As Wisden’s IPL Captain Of The Decade


The new season of the Indian Premier League is just around the corner and the fans are waiting anxiously for the cash-rich league to begin. As the decade is about to end with this year, the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanac named its IPL Team of the Decade.

Rohit Sharma, the skipper of Mumba Indians, who has led his team to four IPL titles, has been picked to lead the team of the decade, while the role of wicket-keeping has been allotted to MS Dhoni. Dwayne Bravo, the right-handed batsman has been picked up as the 12th man of the team.

Chris Gayle, the former Royal Challengers Bangalore’s opener along with Rohit Sharma are picked to open the innings for their team.


At number 3 is Mr.IPL, i.e, Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings, who is the second-highest scorer in the history of IPL. He is the first of two players to have crossed the 5000-run mark, having scored 5368 runs in 193 matches.

Suresh Raina is followed by Virat Kohli at number 4, who is the highest scorer in the history of IPL, having scored 5412 in 177 games at a strike-rate of 131.61.


At number 5 is AB de Villiers, the South African GOAT, who has scored 395 runs in 142 innings at an incredible strike rate of 151. He is followed by the legendary Indian cricketer, MS Dhoni, who has been given the role of a wicket-keeper as well.

Ravindra Jadeja and Sunil Narine are named as the two all-rounders in the Wisden IPL Team of the decade. Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been picked to complete the bowling unit.

Wisden’s IPL Team Of The Decade:

Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma(c), Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

(12th man – Dwayne Bravo)

To Top