IPL 2020: Virat Kohli And MS Dhoni Will Play In The Same Team For The First Time

As the new season of the Indian Premier League is just around the corner, the excitement and anticipation among the fans are increasing day by day. The fan war has already started taking place on social media with fans backing their favorite IPL teams for the IPL trophy.

In order to increase the excitement among the fans, for the very first time in the history of the Indian Premier League, the tournament will begin after an ‘IPL All-star match’. The news of the same was confirmed by the President of BCCI Sourav Ganguly.


On Monday, the IPL Governing Council met and discussed a lot of things — from deciding on the time slot of the fixtures to conducting just five double-headers and the date and venue of the final of the cash-rich league.

Talking about the IPL All-star match, this will feature all the players from eight teams in the star-studded game. This match will be played three days before the opening match of IPL which is scheduled for March 29.

As per a report by ESPNcricinfo, the two teams for the all-star match will be formed by combining players on the basis of zones.

While one team will include the players from the franchise located in the north and east of India – Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders. The other team will have players from the franchises in the south and west – Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Mumbai Indians.


And this is one of the reasons behind the so much anticipation amongst the fans for this match. Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni, these big names of the cricket world will be seen playing together in the same team. This will be happening for the first time in the history of IPL as Rohit, Kohli, and Dhoni have never played in the same team for IPL.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top