5 Indian Captains That Suffered The Most Number Of Losses In Test Cricket

The Indian cricket team has recorded many historic wins in Test cricket. Similarly, the team has lost many times in the test series. Winning and losing are a part and parcel of this game.

In the just-concluded two-match Test series against New Zealand, team India suffered a complete white-wash by 0-2. This was the first clean sweep defeat of Team India under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

However, this isn’t the first time that the Indian cricket team has lost a test series. Here, in this article, we bring you a list of 5 such captains under whose captaincy the Indian cricket team has suffered the most in Test cricket. Have a look:

1. Bishan Singh Bedi – 11 Times:

Former Indian spinner Bishan Singh Bedi led Team India in a total of 22 matches from 1976 to 1978. During his captaincy, the Indian cricket team had to face defeat in 11 matches while winning 6 matches. Interestingly, there were 5 Test draws under his leadership.

2. Sourav Ganguly – 13 Times:

Former Indian skipper and the current President of BCCI, Sourav Ganguly is included in the list of Team India’s most successful captains. Sourav Ganguly made his debut as Indian skipper in the year 2000 against Bangladesh. He has led Team India in 49 matches, out of which he won 21 matches while team India suffered defeat in 13 matches and the game was ended in a draw at 15 occasions.

3. Mohammad Azharuddin – 14 Times:

Former Indian skipper, Mohammad Azharuddin has captained Team India in 47 matches in his 10-year-long captaincy career. Out of 47 matches, India was defeated in 14 matches and 19 matches ended up in a draw.

4. MS Dhoni – 18 Times:

MS Dhoni is regarded as one of the most successful captains in the history of cricket in India. However, the legendary cricketer has also found his place in this unwanted list. MS Dhoni captained India for the first time in the year 2008 and has captained team India in a total of 60 matches, out of which Team India won 27 matches and lost 18 of them. 15 Test matches ended up in draw under MS Dhoni’s leadership.

5. Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi – 19 Times:

The Indian cricket team has suffered defeat most numbers of times under the leadership of Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi. He captained team India for the first time in 1961. He led team India in a total of 40 matches till 1974. Under his leadership, Team India lost the game 19 times, while winning only 9 matches and the rest of the games ended up in a draw.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top