Shane Warne Named His All-Time Australian Test XI And Ignored Brett Lee

Former Australian cricketer and, arguably, the best spinner in cricket’s history, Shane Warne picked his all-time greatest Test XI and picked Allan Border as his captain. Warne, who was a magician with the ball in his hand during his playing days, took to his Instagram account to announce his all-time Test XI featuring only Australian cricketers.

However, Shane Warne added that he has included only those cricketers that he has played against and this is the only reason why he didn’t include David Warner.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

“I am only picking players that I played with that is why David Warner is not going to be a part of the side, he is one of the greatest Australian openers,” Shane Warne said while naming the side on Instagram Live.

Shane Warne picked Matthew Hayden and Michael Slate to open the innings. For the important number 3 spot, Warne picked the great Ricky Ponting, who is one of the greatest batsmen in cricket history. Interestingly, Warne picked both the Waugh brothers–Steve Waugh and Mark Waugh.

However, despite picking Ponting and Steve Waugh, Warne made Allan Border the captain of his all-time Australia’s Test XI.

Picking Adam Gilchrist as the wicketkeeper-batsman was a no brainer as Gilly is the greatest wicketkeeper-batsman in cricket’s history. In the bowling department, Warne picked Glenn McGrath among others but ignored Brett Lee.

Shane Warne’s greatest Australian Test XI: Matthew Hayden, Michael Slater, Ricky Ponting, Mark Waugh, Allan Border (c), Steve Waugh, Adam Gilchrist, Tim May, Jason Gillespie, Glenn Mcgrath, and Bruce Reid.

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet-reports and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button