Top 5 Fastest Centuries By Indian Players In IPL History

The 2020 edition of the world’s most competitive T20 league, Indian Premier League has been delayed because of COVID-19 threat. A lot of state governments requested the top officials to postpone the tournament and BCCI accepted their request. Over the years, IPL has played a major role in the development of Indian cricket. It has helped in finding several new stars like Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja and many others.
Besides, it has also helped the discarded players revive their international careers. When IPL was started, no one expected the batsmen to score a hundred in the tournament because back in 2008, the fans did not see many hundreds in T20 cricket but in the last 12 years, many batsmen have breached the triple figures milestone. They has been a race as to which player will register the fastest IPL century. Chris Gayle holds the all-time IPL record but here are the top 5 Indian batsmen with the fastest century in IPL history.
Wriddhiman Saha – 49 balls:

Starting the list is an unlikely entry as the fans bill Wriddhiman Saha to be a Test specialist. It has been a long time since Saha represented India in limited overs cricket however, he owns the record for the fifth fastest IPL hundred by an Indian batsman. Batting for Kings XI Punjab in the final of IPL 2014, Saha revived his team from a tough situation as his 49-ball century helped KXIP post 199 runs on the board. Unfortunately, Punjab lost that match to Kolkata Knight Riders.
Virender Sehwag – 48 balls:

One of the best opening batsmen that India has ever produced, Virender Sehwag lived up to the expectations in IPL 2011. Sehwag was the captain of Delhi Daredevils and in a game against Deccan Chargers, he smacked a 48-ball century to help Delhi chase down a target of 179 runs. Sehwag lost his wicket for 119 runs however, his innings was enough to guide Delhi home.
Virat Kohli – 47 balls:

Perhaps, the best innings to feature on this list is the magnificent knock played by Virat Kohli in a match against Kings XI Punjab during the league stage of IPL 2016. The match was shortened to 15 overs a side because of rain yet Royal Challengers Bangalore managed to score 211 runs. Virat Kohli led his team from the front as the captain fired a 47-ball hundred in that short match. He scored 113 runs off just 50 deliveries despite having stitches on his hand.
Murali Vijay – 46 balls:

The right-handed opening batsman from Tamil Nadu, Murali Vijay was one of the earliest Indian players to register a century in IPL and his 46-ball hundred against Rajasthan Royals still is the second fastest hundred by an Indian batsman. Vijay played this innings in the year 2010 as CSK posted a mammoths score of 246 runs on the board. Vijay scored 127 runs off 56 balls in that match.
Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls:

Deemed by many as the cleanest hitter in Indian cricket, Yusuf Pathan created the record for the fastest hundred by an Indian player in IPL 2010. During the early stages of this season, Pathan played this knock against Mumbai Indians. He eventually lost his wicket right on the next ball as Mumbai Indians won that match by a close margin. Still, the fans always remember the 37-ball 100 by the Baroda all-rounder.

Related Articles

Back to top button