3 IPL Captains Who Could Never Win A Match Under Their Captaincy

The inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was held way back in 2008. In the next 12 years, IPL grew up as one of the most renowned T20 leagues in world cricket. While each IPL match is high on intensity, a captain plays an important role in leading his troops. It often becomes his responsibility to not only manage his players but also take some crucial decisions throughout the game. However, not every player is able to guide his team through pressure situations.

Here, we take a look at the list of 3 captains who never won an IPL match under their captaincy:

Here’s a list of 3 captains who have never won an IPL match:

1. Parthiv Patel

Parthiv Patel has attained great success as captain for Gujarat at the domestic level. however, when it comes to his stint as skipper at the IPL level, Parthiv has not stood up to the task. In IPL 2011, Parthiv got an opportunity to captain Kochi Tuskers Kerala but couldn’t deliver at one of the most prestigious stages. Ever since he hasn’t been honored with an opportunity to lead an IPL time thereafter in the IPL history.

2. Dwayne Bravo


The prolific Caribbean all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been one of the most valuable players in IPL history. However, Bravo failed to replicate his success as a player when he was handed the opportunity to lead Mumbai Indians in IPL 2010. He captained MI in a solitary match in the third IPL edition in the absence of Sachin Tendulkar, but couldn’t deliver as a leader in the specif game. Ever since Bravo hasn’t been trusted to lead in any of the IPL matches.

3. James Hopes

Former Australian all-rounder James Hopes was a regular feature in the first few editions of the IPL. He even got an opportunity to lead Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevil) in three matches. His team had to face defeat in two matches while one match ended as no result. However, Hopes never captained any IPL team in his career thereafter. He was also a part of the Delhi Capitals’ coaching staff in IPL 2019.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top