Shane Warne Did Not Pick MS Dhoni In His All-Time ODI XI

Shane Warne, arguably the greatest leg-spinner to have ever played the game, recently named his World ODI XI. Warne who ended his career with 708 Test wickets – the then highest for any bowler, was a part of an Australian team that dominated world cricket. In the late 90s and the early 2000s, the invincible Aussies had a team that could win anywhere in the world. And Shane Warne was a crucial member of that ruthless attack.

Featuring as a lone spinner in most games for Australia, Warne was up against some of the greats of the game who were master at their work. It was commendable for the leg-spinner to attain success and exhibit consistency for such a long-time whilst playing for Australia.

Warne includes Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag in his World ODI XI

Warne, who is quite active on Social media, revealed his best ODI XI in a live session via his official Instagram account. “If you look at this side, it is pretty amazing, ” Warne said in his live interaction with the fans.

Former Australian picked an XI from the players those featured as his opponents during his 15-year long playing career. He named two Indians including his nemesis Sachin Tendulkar and flamboyant opener Virender Sehwag at the top of the order.

Both, Sachin and Sehwag, claimed huge success against Australia, and particularly Warne in their respective ODI careers. On many occasions, even the 50-year old conceded on Sachin’s greatness as one of the world’s most prolific run-scorers of all-time.

Sachin and Sehwag formed a dominant opening pair for India for a majority of the period during the 2000s. The Victorian even included the likes of Sangakkara, Pietersen, and the legendary Brian Lara in his all-time ODI XI. He was keen to select Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar, and Curtly Ambrose in a three-man pace attack.

Shane even opted for former England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff as the lone multi-utility player in his World ODI XI.

Here’s Warne’s World ODI XI:

Virender Sehwag, Sanath Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Kevin Pietersen, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Andrew Flintoff, Wasim Akram, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Akhtar, Curtly Ambrose. 

Kartik Bansal

An avid cricket follower

Related Articles

Back to top button