What Will Be India's Playing XIs If They Play All Three Formats On The Same Day

What Will Be India’s Playing XIs If They Play All Three Formats On The Same Day

With no cricket happening around the world these days, a lot of cricket boards are suffering huge financial losses. When the cricket gets back underway, the cricket boards might think about fielding different teams in different formats at the same time to cover up for the financial losses they are currently suffering.

If the BCCI also decides to go that way, how will India’s XI look like in three different formats at the same time? Let’s have a look. 

Test XI

Forming a Test XI won’t be that difficult for India as some of the centrally contracted players are test specialists and feature for the team in only the longest format of the game.

With Shikhar Dhawan likely to be back in the ODI team, Prithvi Shaw won’t be needed in 50-over cricket and he can continue opening the batting with Mayank Agarwal for the test team.

Pujara, Rahane, Vihari, Saha, Ashwin, Ishant, and Umesh are test specialists anyway and are regular members of the India test side. They would be picked without a shadow of a doubt.

With Hardik Pandya available for white-ball cricket, Ravindra Jadeja might also be held back for the red ball side.

Here is the possible Test XI: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (C), Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma


Rohit Sharma will undoubtedly open the batting in ODI cricket and his partner would be Rishabh Pant. The ODI team would be captained by Virat Kohli who would bat at no. 3.

Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey have been in India’s 50-over set-up for quite a while now and both of them have got an ideal tempo for ODI cricket as well. They would form the middle order with Kedar Jadhav and Krunal Pandya who would be the finishers at no. 6 and no. 7 respectively.

Kuldeep Yadav would be the specialist spinner for the ODI side, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, and Khaleel Ahmed would be the pace trio.

Here is the possible ODI XI: Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed


Shikhar Dhawan and Shubhman Gill would open the batting for the T20I team, and KL will captain the side and bat at number 3. Sanju Samson would bat at no. 4, followed by the uncapped Surya Kumar Yadav. 

Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya would be the finishers, while Hardik would also be the third fast bowler to go with Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna who is another uncapped player.

Yuzvendra Chahal would be the lone specialist spinner, while Washington Sundar would play as the bowling all-rounder at no. 8.

Here is the possible T20I XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Shubhman Gill, KL Rahul (c), Sanju Samson (wk), Surya Kumar Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna, Jasprit Bumrah

To Top