5 Players Who Have Scored Most IPL Runs Without A Century

Indian Premier League (IPL) is regarded as one of the most competitive leagues around the globe. It is often said the level of competition in IPL is only bettered in ICC world tournaments. With some of the best player featuring under the same roof, the platform allows only quality players to excel players. Even for batters, for whom T20 format is regarded as tailor-made for batting, run-scoring is not a cakewalk in the IPL.

Here’s a look at 5 players who have scored most IPL runs without a century:

1. Shikhar Dhawan – 4579:

Shikhar Dhawan, who began his IPL campaign with Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2008 has played 158 matches in IPL history but has never scored a century in the Indian T20 league. Dhawan, who has been one of the consistent players for his IPL franchise, scored his highest score of 97 in last year’s IPL against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens. While he will continue to score many more runs in the IPL in the upcoming few seasons, the opener would also want to tick this box of an IPL century in his playing career.

2. MS Dhoni – 4432:

One of the most successful IPL captains of all-time, MS Dhoni has been a rock for Chennai Super Kings for all those years at the IPL. Batting in the middle-order, Dhoni has donned the role of a finisher for his IPL team in the last 12 years of the IPL. As a result, the wicket-keeper has never got an opportunity to make big runs in any of his IPL innings. He scored his best knock of 84 not out against RCB in IPL 2019. In his entire IPL career, Dhon has scored 4432 runs in 190 matches at an average of 42.20.

3. Robin Uthappa – 4411:

One of the consistent performers in IPL history, Robin Uthappa has been a seasoned campaigner in the IPL. Despite being out of the Indian team, Uthappa has been a prolific run-scorer in the IPL. However, the right-handed batsman has never scored a century in his IPL career. In 177 IPL matches, Uthappa has scored 4411 at an average of 28. In IPL 2014, Uthappa was also the Orange Cap holder and played a crucial role in KKR’s IPL winning title.

4. Gautam Gambhir – 4217:

The two-time IPL winning captain, Gautam Gambhir has plied his trade in the IPL for KKR and Delhi Capitals. While he led KKR successfully to IPL trophy twice in three years, Gambhir himself had a major role to play with the bat in hand. He was a consistent opener, providing brisk starts and laying a foundation for others to explode later on in the innings. However, the Delhi-born lad could never claim the three-figure mark in his entire IPL career. He scored 4217 runs in 4217 runs in 154 IPL matches with a highest score of 93 against RCB in IPL 2012.

5. Dinesh Karthik – 3654:

Dinesh Karthik, who has always played for India under the shadows of MS Dhoni, has had a really successful stint in the IPL. Karthik, who currently leads KKR, has plied his trade for a number of IPL franchises. Playing as a wicket-keeper batsman, Karthik has scored 3654 runs in 182 matches at an average of 27.06. However, Karthik has never been able to cross the three-figure in his IPL career. Being a lower-order batter, he hasn’t really got an opportunity to face as many deliveries to score a hundred. However, he still has the highest score of 97 not out scored against Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2019.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top