Aakash Chopra Picks His Current Best ODI XI

Indian cricketer turned commentator Aakash Chopra is known for his in-depth knowledge of cricket and match analysis. He often shares his expert opinion on various cricket shows and cricketers. As no cricket activity is being played because of the lockdown period in India, Aakash Copra has increased his presence on social media and is seen talking about various things revolving around cricket.

Aakash Chopra is very active on his YouTube channel where he is seen talking about several topics and taking interviews with other cricketers. Recently, Aakash Chopra revealed his current best ODI XI.

For the opening position in his ODI XI, Aakash Chopra began by picking Indian opener Rohit Sharma and West Indies player Shai Hope, to open the innings, both the cricketers who had an outstanding 2019 in ODIs. Shai Hope was even picked as the wicketkeeper of his side.

Surprisingly, David Warner, who was the second-highest run-scored during the 2019 World Cup, was not picked by Aakash Chopra in his ODI XI. For the third spot, unsurprisingly, Aakash Chopra picked the Indian skipper Virat Kohli and was followed by Ross Taylor,

Picking Ross Taylor in his ODI XI, Aakash said: “We, in the sub-continent, don’t realize this, but Taylor has scored a lot of runs for the past two years.”

For the fifth position, Aakash picked the 2019 World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan and claimed:

“He has instilled a different brand of cricket in England. That is why I have made him the captain. I want him to make this side play a different brand of cricket,”

For the position of all-rounders, Aakash Chopra picked Ben Stokes and Shakib Al Hasan. He said:

“Their bowling numbers haven’t been satisfactory, which is why I feel they can support each other by delivering ten overs for me,”

Mitchell Starc and India’s Mohammed Shami was picked as the seamers in his team. Once again, he surprised everyone by not picking Jasprit Bumrah.

Here’s Aakash Chopra’s ODI XI:

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope (wk), Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, Eoin Morgan (c), Shakib al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Babar Azam (12th man).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top