Mike Hussey Picks His All-Time IPL XI

The Indian Premier League is regarded as one of the most successful and toughest cricket tournaments around the world. With only 4 overseas talents allowed in the playing XI of each franchise, IPL is the stiffest challenge for even the best to maintain their place in the side.

Michael Hussey, the former Australian batsman and current batting coach of Chennai Super Kings are one of those rare overseas talents, who not just managed to maintain their space in a team but also made many valuable contributions in IPL.

Recently, in a podcast named Hotspot, the cricketer came up with his ‘IPL XI’. While picking his IPL XI, Michael kept in mind the 4 foreigners cap in his mind.

For the opening position in his IPL XI, Hussey picked Rohit Sharma, who has 4898 IPL runs to his name and David Warner, who has been the flag-bearer of Sunrisers Hyderabad and having an IPL score of 4706 runs.

For the number three position, Hussey picked India and RCB captain Virat Kohli, who is followed by South Africa’s and RCB’s star player, AB de Villiers. At number 5, Hussey picked CSK skipper MS Dhoni, who is one of the most successful skippers in IPL. Hussey also named MS Dhoni as the skipper of his ‘IPL XI’.

For the all-rounders in his side, Hussey picked MI all-rounder Hardik Pandya and KKR’s big-hitter Andre Russell, both the cricketers who can turn a match on its head with their amazing cricketing skills.

RCB’s Yuzvendra Chahal and SRH’s Rashid were picked as the leg spinners of Hussey’s side, on the other hand, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah were picked as the special seamers in his team.

Bengaluru: Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman Chris Gayle in action during an IPL-2015 match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on May 6, 2015. (Photo: IANS)

Interestingly, Hussey’s West Indies’ big-hitter Chris Gayle, spinner Sunil Narine, and legendary Lasith Malinga, were not picked by Hussey in his IPL XI.

Hussey’s IPL XI: Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah. 12th man KL Rahul.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top