5 Most Underrated Knocks Played In IPL Finals

It is the dream of every IPL player to feature in the final of the tournament because it is one of the most watched cricket matches of the year. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have regularly featured in IPL finals, while the other teams have rotated over the years. Even a small knock makes a massive difference in high-pressure matches like IPL final.
The likes of Shane Watson, Manvinder Bisla, Krunal Pandya, Manish Pandey, and Kieron Pollard have played heroic knocks in IPL finals, but here’s a look at the five innings that made a significant difference in IPL finals but are not appreciated much.
Sohail Tanvir – 9* (7) vs. CSK, 2008 

Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanvir always performed well against Chennai Super Kings in IPL. In the IPL final of 2008, Tanvir scored 9 runs off 7 deliveries and formed a crucial partnership with Shane Warne to take RR past the winning line.
Albie Morkel – 15 (6) vs. MI, 2010 

South African all-rounder Albie Morkel was a match-winner for Chennai in the first few seasons of the IPL. Suresh Raina top-scored for CSK in IPL final 2010, but it was Morkel’s 15 runs off 6 balls that took Chennai from 150 to 168/5.
Jacques Kallis – 69 (49) vs. CSK, 2012 
See the source image
Mavinder Bisla solely gets the credit for helping KKR win its maiden title in 2012, but it was Jacques Kallis’ 69 runs off 49 deliveries that backed him up well and helped Kolkata chase down the massive target of 191 runs in the finale.
Suresh Raina -32 (24) vs. SRH, 2018 

SRH had a stellar bowling unit in 2018. Shane Watson played extremely well against them in IPL 2018 final but he could not have done it without Suresh Raina’s support. Raina scored 32 runs off 24 deliveries and allowed Watson to play his natural game.
Yusuf Pathan – 36 (22) vs. KXIP, 2014

Another entry involving the KKR batsmen is from IPL 2014. Manish Pandey stole the show with a 94-runs knock and took KKR close to the 200-runs target. However, it was Yusuf Pathan’s 22-ball 36, that included four sixes and turned the momentum in KKR’s favor after Gautam Gambhir’s departure.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button