5 Players Who Have Scored ‘400+ Runs’ In An IPL Season Most Number Of Times

They say that T-20 cricket is a batsman’s game and to substantiate the veracity of the statement, the strike rates of a batsman and the run rate over 7 in almost every game are the biggest testimonies. Despite the format being a splash of runs for the athletes, yet most of the cricketers fail to sustain themselves in the long run and consistently underperform in the gruelling version of the game.
However, there are always a few cricketers who are equal to the task of whatever is being provided at their feet and they come out in flying colours with some blistering knocks that is always capable of proving their critics wrong. We will look at five cricketers who managed to score four hundred plus runs in an individual season for the highest number of times in IPL.

  1. Suresh Raina – 9 times

The most dominant scorer of the fray, Suresh Raina has never failed to leave his fans amused with some blistering knocks up his sleeves. With 5368 runs from 193 matches, Raina has managed to score 400 plus runs in a single season for 9 times.
The years that saw him wreaking havoc with his blade were 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Out of 12 seasons in all, Raina has managed to score mammoth totals in a staggering 9 seasons. A reason they say that Raina was one of the best T-20 cricketers, India ever had.

  1. Rohit Sharma – 7 times

Another terrific run-getter for his respective sides, Rohit Sharma is an absolute blaster with the blade in his hands. The Hitman has managed to garner 4898 runs from 188 matches which saw him scoring 400 plus in a single season for a record 7 times.
Years that lofted him to prominence, establishing the Indian vice-captain in a pedestal above others were 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019. An exquisite stroke-player, Sharma still continues to rule the roost with his newfound love for bizarre shots.

  1. Virat Kohli – 6 times

The Indian skipper and the solitary torch-bearer for Royal Challengers Bangalore have been in subliminal form as he has hammered the bowlers ruthlessly. Kohli’s relentless aggression makes him a hot-favourite for the shortest version of the game.
With 5412 runs up his sleeves, Kohli has reigned supreme with a brand of his fine batting that is still to be unparalleled by others. Smashing 400 plus runs in 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018 and 2019, he has proved the fact that he is beyond the ordinary cricketers who can turn the match single-handedly on his heyday.

  1. David Warner – 6 times

The Australian opener has managed to chronicle 400 plus runs in 6 seasons out of the 10 that he played. It also witnessed him notching up the Orange cap a whopping 3 times, which is by far the highest by any batsman of the fray.
He has managed to cross the hallowed figure of 400 plus runs in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2019. Most importantly all of these have arrived in consecutive seasons, thereby underlining his hard-hitting brilliance.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan – 6 times

The destructor-in-chief for Indian opening, Shikhar Dhawan deals in 4’s and 6’s once he starts wielding his blade. A man who takes time to get his eyes set can switch to an extremely ruthless avatar once he tastes meat in the form of boundaries.
Managing to amass 400 plus runs in 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019, Dhawan has notched up 4579 runs from the 159 matches that he has played until date. Known for his hard-hitting flair, he is also renowned for his acrobatics in the deep while fielding.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button