7 Facts About IPL Only 1 Out Of 10 Fans May Know

IPL has become the most talked-about cricket league on the planet, with fans from all over the world watching the tournament. It is the only cricket league, where the active Indian cricketers play with the foreign cricket stars. Over the years, many players have used this stage to show their talent to the cricket universe.
While IPL has gained a plethora of die-hard fans in the last 13 years, here are a few lesser-known facts only 1 out of 10 fans might know about the Indian Premier League.
Only two Indians have won the Most Valuable Player Award
See the source image
The main goal of the IPL was to promote Indian cricket. However, the foreign players have been more dominant in the league as barring Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar, no other Indian has captured the MVP of the Season award.
RCB is the only team to score more than 250 and less than 50 in one innings of IPL
See the source image
Royal Challengers Bangalore has never been able to win the IPL trophy, but it has a bizarre record to its name in the IPL. RCB is the only team to manage a 250+ score and score below 50 in a single IPL innings.
Piyush Chawla did not bowl a no ball for 386 overs
See the source image
Indian leg-spinner Piyush Chawla has been an IPL veteran. He will play for CSK in the IPL this year and his franchise would be extremely happy with his record of not bowling a single no-ball for 386 overs.
AB de Villiers and Kieron Pollard’s remarkable feat of 100 matches
See the source image
AB de Villiers began his IPL journey with Delhi, but now he is a part of RCB. Kieron Pollard has also been with MI for a long time. Both players are the only foreigners to represent a single team in 100 matches.
Star Sports paid 21 lakhs for one ball
See the source image
As per a report, Star Sports paid INR 21 lakhs for telecasting one ball of IPL in the last two seasons, considering that they bought the rights for 16347.5 crore.
Virat Kohli involved in three 200+ partnerships
See the source image
RCB captain Virat Kohli not only holds the record for the most runs in IPL history, but he is also the only batsman to be a part of 3 200+ partnerships in IPL, one with Gayle and two with de Villiers.
Harbhajan Singh has most ducks in IPL
See the source image
Harbhajan Singh, the off-spin bowler of Chennai Super Kings has recorded 13 ducks in his 12-season long IPL career. A majority of them have come for his former team Mumbai Indians.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button