7 Times Both The Openers Got Out For Ducks In The IPL

IPL 2020 is all set to begin on 19th September and the prominence of the opening batsmen will be very high this year. The reason behind it is that the conditions in the UAE will be supportive to the spinners. Hence, the middle-order batsmen will find it hard to score runs in the middle overs.
However, there have been instances when both openers of a team lost their wickets without opening their account. In this article, we will list those instances.
Parthiv Patel and Stephen Fleming 
See the source image
The first opening pair to achieve this feat was CSK’s Patel and Fleming. The two southpaws got out for ducks in the match against RR thanks to Sohail Tanvir.
Graeme Smith and Swapnil Asnodkar
See the source image
IPL 2009 was played in South Africa, but the home player Smith could not provide RR with a solid start against DC. He lost his wicket to Fidel Edwards, while his partner Asnodkar got run out soon.
Adam Gilchrist and Herschelle Gibbs
See the source image
Another instance to feature from IPL 2009 is from the game between Deccan Chargers and Chennai. Albie Morkel and Sudeep Tyagi removed Gilchrist and Gibbs for a duck as CSK registered a big win.
Luke Ronchi and JP Duminy 
See the source image
A surprising opening pair used by MI in IPL 2009, Ronchi and Duminy got out for ducks in the match against Delhi. Mumbai lost that match by 7 wickets.
Gautam Gambhir and David Warner
See the source image
Gambhir and Warner opened for Delhi in IPL 2009 semifinal against Deccan. Both southpaws lost their wickets for a duck courtesy of Ryan Harris.
Brendon McCullum and VVS Laxman
See the source image
Kochi Tuskers Kerala played only one season in IPL. In the match against another new team Pune, McCullum and Laxman lost their wickets for a duck as Wayne Parnell and Oshane Thomas dismissed them early.
Jacques Kallis and Gautam Gambhir
See the source image
The last pair to get out for a duck in IPL is Kallis and Gambhir. Shami and Coulter-Nile sent them back to pavilion in the match between KKR and Delhi of IPL 2014.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button