Hardik Pandya and all the players who have been dismissed Hit Wicket in IPL

KKR met Mumbai Indians in the 5th Match of the ongoing Dream11 IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and asked Mumbai Indians to bat first. Mumbai Indians started off in a brilliant manner with Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Yadav giving a solid start. The side looked set for a big total and the onus was on Hardik Pandya to take the side to a mammoth total. Pandya started off brilliantly and was clearing the boundaries at will.

Hardik Pandya hit wicket

However, Hardik Pandya was unlucky and got out in a bizarre manner. The batsman who was looking in brilliant touch and had scored 18 runs off 13 balls. In the 19th over Hardik Pandya was looking to accelerate and went deep into the crease on the bowling of Andre Russell. However, when he was trying to play a cut shot, Hardik accidentally hit his own wicket and gifted his wicket to the KKR bowling.

Players other than Hardik Pandya who have been hit wicket:

Even though it sounds bizarre and weird, Hardik Pandya is not the first player to lose his wicket through the hit wicket. The first player to lose his wicket through a hit wicket in IPL was Musavir Khote, an uncapped player of Maharastra who was playing for Mumbai Indians. He lost his wicket through hit wicket against Kings XI Punjab in the first edition of IPL. There have been several other players to have lost their wickets in a wicked manner. Former Pakistani captain Misbah Ul Haq also lost his wicket in a similar manner in the first edition. Several big players such as Riyan Parag, Andre Russell, and the veteran Indian player Swapnil Asnodkar have also been the victim of one of the most unfortunate ways to lose their wickets. Here is a list of all the players who lost their wicket after getting hit wicket:

Player Team (year)
Hardik Pandya Mumbai Indians (2020)
Sheldon Jackson Kolkata Knight Riders (2017)
Yuvraj Singh Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)
David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)
Sourabh Tiwary Royal Challengers Bangalore (2012)
Ravindra Jadeja Chennai Super Kings (2012)
Swapnil Asnodkar Rajasthan Royals (2009)
Misbah Ul Haq Royal Challengers Bangalore (2008)
Musavir Khote Mumbai Indians (2008)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top