Number of IPL Centuries Scored By All The 8 Franchises

It’s never easy to score IPL centuries because you get only 120 deliveries per innings in the IPL games and unless and until a single batsman plays a decent chunk of the innings, it’s incredibly difficult to score a hundred.

Since the batsmen play high-risk cricket in IPL, they don’t often stay at the crease for long periods, however, we have still got to witness plenty of IPL centuries over the years.

Here is a detailed account of IPL centuries scored by different teams

Royal Challengers Bangalore (13 centuries)

Royal Challengers Bangalore top this list as they have scored 13 centuries in the IPL, more than any other team and that might surprise a few people as RCB has never even won the IPL title.

But, RCB’s failure to win an IPL title is down to their bowling. Batting has always been its strength. They have had the services of superstar T20 players including the captain Virat Kohli himself, AB de Villiers, and Chris Gayle.

While Kohli and Gayle have scored 5 hundred each for RCB, De Villiers has scored two, while the remaining one has been scored by Manish Pandey.

Kings XI Punjab (11 centuries)

Kings XI Punjab, which is the second in the list, has also never won an IPL title, but there have been a number of individual performances from the Kings XI Punjab batsmen in the past.

Chris Gayle is among the century makers for Kings XI Punjab as well. He has got a total of 6 IPL centuries to his name so far, 5 for RCB, and 1 for KXIP.

Apart from Gayle, Hashim Amla has scored two IPL centuries for KXIP, while KL Rahul, Virender Sehwag, Paul Valthaty, Wriddhiman Saha, Mahela Jayawardene, Adam Gilchrist, and David Miller have scored one each.

Chennai Super Kings (8 centuries)

All the 8 IPL centuries scored for Chennai Super Kings have been scored by top-order players. While Murali Vijay scored two centuries back in the time when he used to be CSK’s first-choice opener, Shane Watson scored a couple of centuries for CSK in IPL 2018.

The other players who have scored IPL centuries for CSK have been Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, and Michael Hussey. All of them have been openers, except Raina who bats at no. 3.

Delhi Capitals (8 centuries)

Delhi Capitals have had the services of some big hitters in the past editions of the IPL including Virender Sehwag, David Warner AB de Villiers, and Kevin Pietersen. And although Delhi has hardly stood out as a team in the IPL, they have not been short of the century makers.

While David Warner crossed the three-figure mark twice playing for Delhi Capitals (earlier Daredevils), Sehwag, Pietersen, De Villiers, Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant, and Quinton de Kock have scored one century each for Delhi.

Rajasthan Royals (6 centuries)

Rajasthan Royals have also been a very inconsistent IPL team. They won the title in the very first season, but have not reached the playoffs too often after that. However, there have been 6 centuries scored for the Royals and 4 out of those 6 centuries have been scored by two of the classiest players going around in India – Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson.

The other two were scored by Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson respectively.

Mumbai Indians (4 centuries)

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the IPL, but they have had only 4 centuries scored for them so far. Out of those 4 centuries, two were scored in the initial stages of the tournament itself by the two veterans Sanath Jayasuriya and Sachin Tendulkar.

The remaining two IPL centuries for Mumbai Indians have come off the bat of Rohit Sharma and Lendl Simmons.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (3 centuries)

After scoring the most number of centuries for Delhi Capitals, David Warner has scored the most number of centuries for his current team Sunrisers Hyderabad as well.

Out of the 3 centuries scored in the history of Sunrisers Hyderabad, two have been scored by Warner, while one has been scored by his opening partner Jonny Bairstow.

Kolkata Knight Riders (1 century)

It’s quite an irony that the first-ever century scored in the history of the IPL was scored by a KKR batsman Brendon McCullum, but since then, no KKR batsman has ever been able to cross the three-figure mark in the 13-year history of the IPL.

However, despite that KKR has been really impressive as a team as they have won two IPL titles.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top