5 Most Famous Nicknames Of Players In The IPL

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most glamorous cricket league in the world, with the finest talents from all over the world competing in one place. Several legends of the game like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle, MS Dhoni, Ricky Ponting, Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee, Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, Daniel Vettori, Stephen Fleming, Virat Kohli, and several others have been a part of this tourney over the years. 

The incredible fan following of this league has also led to some incredible nicknames for the players. In this article, we will look at the five most fascinating nicknames in the tournament’s history. 

MS Dhoni – Thala 

The most consistent team in IPL history, Chennai Super Kings has always made it to the tournament’s playoffs in every season that they have played. MS Dhoni is the main reason behind their success as he has captained the team to perfection. The home fans fondly nicknamed him as Thala. 

Suresh Raina – Chinna Thala 

The deputy of MS Dhoni at Chennai Super Kings, Suresh Raina has earned the nickname of Chinna Thala for his fantastic job as the vice-captain of CSK. The left-handed batsman is also known as ‘Mr. IPL’ for his fantastic consistency in IPL. 

Mustafizur Rahman – Fizz

Mustafizur Rahman has not played much in the IPL, but while playing for SRH in IPL, he wowed everyone with his left-arm pace. He also earned the nicknames of Fizz. 

AB de Villiers – Mr. 360 

AB de Villiers has become the backbone of Royal Challengers Bangalore with his marvelous performances. Because of his ability to hit the ball all over the park, ABD is fondly called Mr. 360. 

Chris Gayle – Universe Boss

Another foreign player who is extremely popular in IPL is Chris Gayle. As he has achieved much success in all T20 leagues, he is called the Universe Boss. 

Here’s The Complete Of IPL 2020 Commentators; No Place For Sanjay Manjrekar
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top