Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Have Created a New Record for KXIP - The Cricket Lounge

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Have Created a New Record for KXIP

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Form A Record-Breaking Partnership: Kings XI Punjab faced Rajasthan Royals in the ninth game of the season. Rajasthan Royals won the toss and chose to bowl first. The star opening pair of Kings XI Punjab Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul took the field. The players started off brilliantly and smashed the Rajasthan bowlers for boundaries all over the park.

The pair didn’t show any respect for the bowlers and smashed all of them for an economy rate of over 10. The star bowler from the last game Rahul Tewatia was manhandled by the brilliant Mayank Agarwal who smashed the  Royals spinner for 19 runs in his only over. The bowler with the best economy proved to be Jofra Archer who gave 28 runs in three overs.

The dynamic duo utilized the shorter boundaries of Sharjah to their utmost benefit and cleared the boundaries at will. The duo combined for 17 fours and eight sixes. Mayank Agarwal proved to be the show-stopper with his brilliant 50 balls 106 runs whereas the star of the last match KL Rahul happily played the second fiddle to Agarwal as he played a cautious 69 runs off 54 balls.

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Break A Decade-Old Record:

KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal put up quite a show for the opening stand. The duo managed to break several records in the process. The pair added 183 runs in 16.3 overs for the first wicket and shattered a decade-old record held by Paul Valthaty and Adam Gilchrist. Rahul and Agarwal broke the record of the highest first-wicket stand which was set by the aforementioned pair in 2011.

They also managed to eclipse several record partnerships to become the second-highest ever in the history of Kings XI Punjab. When Mayank Agarwal lost his wicket at 183 only one other partnership in the franchise’s history was bettering their stand which was made in IPL 2010. The highest ever partnership was stitched by Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh in the fourth edition of IPL which stands at 206 runs.

To Top