Most Number Of Wides Bowled By Bowlers In Every Season Of The IPL

IPL 2020 is about to begin soon as the official hype commercial for the same has been released by the official broadcasters Star India today. A few big names like Suresh Raina, Lasith Malinga, Jason Roy, Kane Richardson, and Chris Woakes will miss the IPL this year. Still, it promises to be a cracker of a season.

Even the most experienced players come under pressure in the IPL. A batsman often struggles to connect big shots under pressure, while the bowler struggles with his line and length. In this article, we will have a look at the one bowler who bowled the most wides in each IPL season.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

2008 – Sreesanth, 21 wides

Former Rajasthan Royals star Sreesanth was a part of Kings XI Punjab in the first season of IPL. Many fans may remember the infamous controversy involving Sreesanth and Harbhajan Singh. Sreesanth bowled a surprising number of 21 wides in that tourney.

2009 – Lasith Malinga, 26 wides

IPL 2009 was played in South Africa and surprisingly, even though the pitch assisted the fast bowlers, Mumbai Indians star Lasith Malinga conceded 26 wides in the competition.

2010 – Dale Steyn, 28 wides

Another surprising name to appear on this list is Dale Steyn. The veteran South African player conceded 28 wides in IPL 2010, the most by a bowler in any season of IPL.

2011 – Zaheer Khan, 19 wides

Zaheer Khan was in peak form in 2011. He helped India win the 2011 World Cup with his left-arm pace. Khan also did well in the subsequent IPL season, but he gave away 19 runs in the form of wides.

2012 – Kieron Pollard, 22 wides

Caribbean all-rounder Kieron Pollard was used as a regular bowler by Mumbai Indians in 2012. Pollard bowled 22 wides in that season even though he was not so quick as the others.

2013 – Mitchell Johnson, 19 wides

Mitchell Johnson is the second left-arm fast bowler to feature in this list. In the sixth season of IPL, the Aussie pacer conceded 19 wides to the opposition team.

2014 – Ravichandran Ashwin, 20 wides

Ravichandran Ashwin was hailed as one of the best off-spinners of the world in all forms of the game during 2010-16. Playing for CSK in 2014, Ashwin gave away 20 wides to the opponents.

2015 – Mitchell McClenaghan, 21 wides

Mitchell McClenaghan played a key role in Mumbai Indians’ 2015 title triumph. However, the Kiwi fast bowler bowled 21 wides in the tournament.

2016 – Shane Watson, 20 wides

Shane Watson switched to RCB in IPL 2016 and had a decent outing with the ball. He made it to the finals of the IPL that year, but Watto gave away 20 wides in the tourney.

2017 – Mitchell McClenaghan and Lasith Malinga, 16 wides

Mumbai Indians won the IPL trophy again in 2017, but two of their top overseas fast bowlers Mitchell McClenaghan and Lasith Malinga conceded a total of 32 runs to the opposition through their wide balls.

2018 – Mohammad Siraj, 18 wides

Mohammad Siraj is a promising talent, but he has not been able to maintain his line and length, especially in the death overs. In IPL 2018, he gave away 18 wides to the opponent teams.

2019 – DJ Bravo – 14 wides

2019 seemed to be the most disciplined IPL in terms of bowling wides as CSK’s star all-rounder DJ Bravo managed to top this list despite bowling less than 15 wides. It will be interesting to see who bowls the most wides in IPL 2020.

Related Articles

Back to top button