Top 10 Batsmen Who Hold Most Of The Batting Records In The IPL


The 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League will kickstart from September 19 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) with 56 matches to be played across 45 days to decide on who will lift the prestigious trophy of IPL 2020.

However, ahead of the much-awaited edition of the Indian Premier League, we bring you a list of the top 10 batsmen, who hold most of the records in IPL.

Here’s a look at the top ten batsmen, who hold most of the batting records in IPL history. Have a look:


  • Starting the list of facts with the King himself, Virat Kohli is currently leading the run-getter list, with 5412 in 169 innings.

  • Ever since its inception, as many as 31 batsmen have posted 2000 plus runs however, there are only two batsmen — Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina, who have posted 5000 plus runs in the tournament so far. 19 Indian batsmen and 12 overseas batsmen have scored 2000 plus runs in the tournament. David Warner (4706), Chris Gayle (4484), and AB de Villiers (4395) are the three overseas batsmen to have scored a 4000 plus runs.
  • 13 batsmen have scored 20 plus the fifties in the tournament with Warner scoring most fifties – 48, including 4 centuries. 8 Indian batsmen and five overseas batsmen have scored 20 plus the fifties. Kohli with 41 fifties, tops the record for most fifties among the Indian batsmen.
  • 58 centuries have been registered in the tournament, out of which Indian batsmen have scored 19 and overseas batsmen have scored 34.

    RCB is leading the table with 13 centuries, with the help of blistering performances from Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, and AB de Villiers. RCB is followed by KXIP with 10 centuries.

  • So far, 9 batsmen have won the Orange Cap for most runs scored in a season — Australia Shaun Marsh (KXIP) in 2008 (616 in 11 matches), Matthew Hayden (CSK) in 2009 (572 in 12 ), Sachin Tendulkar (MI) in 2010 (618 in 15), Chris Gayle (RCB) in 2011 and 2012 (608 in 12 and 733 in 15 respectively), Michael Hussey (CSK) in 2013 (733 in 16), Robin Uthappa (KKR) in 2014 (660 in 16), David Warner (SRH) in 2015, 2017 and 2019 (562 in 14, 641 in 14 and 692 in 12 respectively), Virat Kohli (RCB) in 2016 (973 in 16) and Kane Williamson (SRH) in 2018 (735 in 17).

Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner celebrates his century during the 11th IPL 2019 match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on March 31, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

  • Wriddhiman Saha (in 2010) of KXIP and Watson (in 2011), are the only two players who have scored centuries containing ten or more fours in the final.
  • The tournament has seen also two occasions of two batsmen scoring centuries in the same innings — Kohli and de Villiers, and Jonny Bairstow and Warner.
  • 11 times batsman’s century ended up in a losing cause.
  • Suresh Raina and Chris Gayle are the only two batsmen to score 99 not out, while Kohli and Prithvi Shaw are the two batsmen to be dismissed on 99.

  • The Universal Boss — Chris Gayle is the only batsman to breach the 300-mark in both sixes (326) and fours (368) count.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top