6 Times Captains Were Removed Mid-Way In The IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most competitive, extravagant, and popular T20 league in the world. It is a very challenging league because the level of cricket is at par with international cricket and legends of the game take part in it-as players and also as members of the coaching staff.

Leading an IPL team is a matter of great pride for cricketers as cricket lovers from across the world keep a close eye on the tournament and many cricket pundits believe that captaining an IPL team is a great test of a man’s leadership skills, more often than not.

Talking of leadership skills, Dinesh Karthik has decided to step down as KKR’s captain in IPL 2020 and Eoin Morgan has been named as their new skipper for the rest of the tournament, starting from today.

Dinesh Karthik, who has scored just 108 runs in seven matches in IPL 2020 so far, has taken this decision to focus on his batting and contribute more runs with his bat. However, this is not the first time that a skipper has decided to step down mid-way in the tournament.

Let’s have a look at skippers who stepped down mid-way and handed over the captaincy to someone else.

Kumar Sangakkara in 2012

Former Sri Lankan captain and one of the most decorated batsmen in the history of the game, Kumar Sangakkara stepped aside from Deccan Charger’s captaincy mid-way through the IPL 2012. Sangakkara handed over the captaincy to Australian cricketer Cameron White.

Ricky Ponting in 2013

Former Australian skipper and arguably the greatest leader in the history of the game stepped down from Mumbai Indians’ captaincy and handed over the baton to Rohit Sharma. And the rest, as they say, is history.

Shikhar Dhawan in 2014

Stylish Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan made away for former West Indian skipper Darren Sammy in IPL 2014 when he stepped aside from SRH’s captaincy mid-way through the tournament.

David Miller in 2016

In 2016, KXIP made a big decision mid-way through the tournament and dropped David Miller from the role of captaincy and handed over the responsibility to Murali Vijay.

Gautam Gambhir in 2018 

Gautam Gambhir, who is one of the most successful skippers in the history of IPL, stepped down as captain of Delhi Daredevils mid-way through IPL 2018, after the team suffered another woeful start to the tournament. Gambhir handed over the responsibility to young Shreyas Iyer.

Dinesh Karthik in 2020

Dinesh Karthik is the latest addition to this list after he decided to hand over the captaincy to Eoin Morgan in order to focus on his batting performance and also to turn things around in KKR’s favor in IPL 2020.

To Top