Has Rohit Sharma Been Ruled Out Of IPL 2020? Find Out

IPL 2020 Rohit Sharma

Has Rohit Sharma Been Ruled Out Of IPL 2020?: On Monday, BCCI’s Senior National Selection Committee announced the Indian squads for the upcoming tour to Australia, which will be comprising four Tests, three One-Day Internationals, and a few T20Is.

While there were a few new names in the squad announced by the BCCI like Varun Chakraborty, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, on the other hand, one decision that has surprised everyone in the absence of ‘Hitman’ Rohit Sharma from the squad.

Rohit Sharma

BCCI also released a statement f the medical team, who are keeping a close watch on Rohit’s progress in health and there is a possibility that he might travel to Australia.

Besides the tour of Australia, the absence of Rohit Sharma and the update on his health has raised a serious question on his availability for Mumbai Indians (MI) in the remaining games for the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League.

For the unversed, Rohit suffered a hamstring injury during the game against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) which went down to the Super-Over last night. Infact, in the last two games of Mumbai Indians, Kieron Pollard was leading the team instead of Rohit Sharma.

Rohit Sharma’s unavailability will be a huge blow for Mumbai Indians. With Rohit not being picked for the Australia tour clearly suggests that the injury that he suffered is serious and he might not play any further in the IPL 2020. Rohit has been in some brilliant form lately, both as the skipper and as a batsman. So far, he has scored 260 runs in nine matches at an average of 28.88 and with the strike-rate of 129.35.


Test squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar, Ajinkya (vice-capt), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-capt/wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-capt/wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

To Top