Stats: Top Scorers For RCB In Each Season Of The IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have been the unluckiest team in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history because the franchise assembles a solid squad every season but they find a way to lose the important games. Over the last 12 years, RCB have made it to three IPL finals and lost all of them. Their performances have not been so impressive in the last three years even though they have some of the best players on the planet.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers are the two cornerstones of the franchise, whereas several other big names have also been a part of this side in the last 12 seasons. In this article, we will look at the top scorers for RCB in each IPL season.

IPL 2008 – Rahul Dravid

Former Indian cricket team captain Rahul Dravid played for RCB in the 2008 season. He was the team’s best batsman, with 371 runs in 14 innings. He scored two fifties while his average was 28.54.

IPL 2009 – Jacques Kallis

IPL 2009 happened in South Africa and the local lad Jacques Kallis was in top form during the competition. Kallis scored 361 runs in 15 innings for RCB at a strike rate of 108.73.

IPL 2010 – Jacques Kallis

The South African legend continued his fine form in the IPL during the 2010 season. Kallis aggregated 572 runs in 16 matches for the team, hitting 67 fours and 9 sixes.

IPL 2011 – Chris Gayle

The Chris Gayle dominance era began in 2011 in the Indian Premier League. The Caribbean great topped the run charts for RCB in 2011 with 608 runs in just 12 innings.

IPL 2012 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle emerged as the top scorer for RCB again in the 2012 season as he scored 733 runs in just 14 innings. Gayle registered one century and seven fifties in that season.

IPL 2013 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle breached the 700-runs mark again in the 2013 season. This time, he finished with 708 runs in 16 innings, scoring at a strike rate of 156.29.

IPL 2014 – AB de Villiers

South African star AB de Villiers has played many match-winning knocks for RCB over the last few years. In the 2014 season, the right-handed batsman scored 395 runs in 13 innings.

IPL 2015 – RCB rockstar AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers topped the run charts for RCB once again in 2015 with 513 runs in 14 IPL innings. He struck 60 fours and 22 maximums in that season.

IPL 2016 – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli ruled the bowlers in the IPL 2016 season. The RCB captain set the record for the most runs by any batsman in a single IPL season by scoring 973 runs for RCB.

IPL 2017 – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli retained the top spot in the RCB’s batting leaderboard, but his overall run tally went down from 973 runs to 308 runs. Kohli scored four fifties in that season.

IPL 2018 – Virat Kohli

The captain led his team from the front again in the 2018 season. Virat Kohli aggregated 530 runs in 14 innings for RCB, including four fifties.

IPL 2019 – RCB Skipper Virat Kohli

2019 was the year when RCB skipper Virat Kohli topped the leaderboard of his franchise for the fourth consecutive time. Kohli scored 464 runs at a strike rate of 141.16. He scored his fifth IPL hundred during that season.

To Top