5 Players Who Have Most Ducks In The IPL Playoffs
Chennai Super Kings

5 Players Who Have Most Ducks In The IPL Playoffs


Indian Premier League is inarguably one of the most coveted tournaments around and is followed by fans all around the World. Reaching the playoffs of IPL is considered as an achievement and players take pride in playing for the title of the prestigious tournament. Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians met each other in the 1st playoff game of IPL 2020 in the 1st Qualifier. Shikhar Dhawan one of the openers of the Delhi side was dismissed for a duck in the game. Unknowingly the player-owned a record in which he will not be taking any pride.

Shikhar Dhawan now has four ducks in the playoff which is amongst the highest in the league. The record is a highly unwanted one as players make an utmost effort in reaching to the playoff stage and getting out for a duck is nothing but unfortunate. Let us take a look at players who have the maximum number of ducks under their belt in the playoffs.

Shikhar Dhawan

The left-hander is one of the most successful Indian openers in the International as well as IPL circuit. He has been a part of all 13 seasons of IPL and has played for Delhi and Hyderabad sides. The player has been a part of playoff occasions on 14 occasions with a total of four teams in Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils and Delhi Capitals.

However, luck has not favoured him in the playoffs and he has been a victim of nerves in the initial phase of the game. Dhawan has four ducks under his belt and has the maximum number of these in the playoffs.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is by far the most successful captain in the league. He has led Mumbai Indians to the title on four different occasions. He also won one tournament with his first team of the league in Deccan Chargers in the second edition. Other than these playoff runs, Rohit Sharma has made it to the playoffs on a couple of other occasions as well. However, he has been unlucky in the postseason games and has managed to bag three ducks in 19 games.

Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu in one of the veterans of Indian Premier League and has featured in every season since 2010. The player could not be a part of initial few seasons after being banned by BCCI for being a part of rebel league Indian Cricket League.  However, he was drafted by Mumbai Indians and the player hasn’t looked back since then having successful stints with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. The player has been a part of 19 playoff games where he has seen himself getting knocked out for a duck on three different occasions. Ambati Rayudu is the only player to be on the list who hasn’t featured in all the seasons of IPL.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina fondly known as Mr IPL for his exceptional performances throughout the history of the league is arguably the best batsman in league’s history. He has been a part of now-defunct Gujarat Lions and has been a vital part of Chennai Super Kings. Suresh Raina has been a part of 24 playoff games. His number of ducks is equal to that of Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu in three.


To Top