6 Indian Batsmen Who Have Scored 600+ Runs In An IPL Season

Indian Premier League is touted as the big daddy of T20 Cricket around the globe. The advent of IPL has led to a drastic improvement, especially in Indian Cricket. 

It is safe to say that the Indian cricketers have benefited a lot from the cash-rich league. IPL has become the ideal format to groom young talented Indian cricketers. It has also become the perfect platform for them to make a case for the national selection. 

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

Over the years, we have seen some stellar performances from Indian cricketers in IPL. Add to that, there have been instances when the batsmen have gone on the score over 600 runs in a single season. Indian Cricketers have managed to achieve that feat on 8 occasions. 

Let’s take a look at all those players who have scored more than 600 runs in IPL: 

Sachin Tendulkar (Year: 2000):

Sachin Tendulkar led Mumbai Indians to the finals of IPL 2020. They, unfortunately, lost the final at the hands of Chennai Super Kings. Sachin Tendulkar wreaked havoc that season as he scored 618 runs in 15 matches at an average of 47.53. He scored runs quite aggressively, his strike rate of 132.61 suggests. 

In pursuit of the 168-run total in the final, Sachin Tendulkar played a handy 48-run knock. However, he fell short of support at the other end and Mumbai Indians lost that game by 22 runs. 

Virat Kohli ( Year: 2013 and 2016) 

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is the highest run-scorer in IPL at the moment. Over the years, he has piled a plethora of runs in the cash-rich league. By far, Virat Kohli has scored the most number of runs in the 2013 and 2016 editions. He went past the 600-run mark in both seasons. 

2013 edition saw him scoring 634 runs in 16 matches, averaging 45.28. He struck six half-centuries in that edition. His best performance to date came in the 2016 IPL, in which he scored 973 runs in 16 games at an astonishing average of 81.08. 

Robin Uthappa ( Year: 2014) 

Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa played an instrumental role in helping KKR win the IPL title in 2014. Opening the batting for the franchise along with KKR, he gave strong starts to the side. Uthappa scored 660 runs that season in 16 matches at an average of 44.00 and strike rate of 137. He defied the law of averages after hitting 10 consecutive 40-plus scores during that season.

Rishabh Pant (Year: 2018):

Rishabh Pant rose to prominence after a stupendous IPL season in 2018. Rishabh Pant was the only batsman who stood up for Delhi Capitals that year. Even though Delhi Capitals struggled that season, Rishabh Pant impressed one and all with his hard-hitting prowess. 

Averaging 52.61, Rishabh Pant amassed 684 runs in 14 games. He was the second-highest run-scorer that season behind Kane Williamson. 

KL Rahul

KL Rahul

Making his debut in 2013, KL Rahul has become a household name in IPL. He took up the captaincy for the first time in the ongoing IPL. KL Rahul couldn’t reach the playoffs, but KL Rahul scored plenty for runs in the tournament. He is currently the highest run-getter in the ongoing edition. In 14 games, KL Rahul scored 670 runs at an average of 55.83.

 This is not the first time when the Karnataka batsman went past the 600-run mark in IPL. The 2018 edition saw him scoring 659 runs in 14 games at an average of 54.91. 

Ambati Rayudu 

Ambati Rayudu's Injury

Playing his first season for a new franchise in Chennai Super Kings, Ambati Rayudu dished out numerous match-winning performances in 2018. Averaging 43, Ambati Rayudu scored 602 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of close to 150. He led the way with the bat and helped CSK clinch their third title in IPL history.  

Related Articles

Back to top button